Shortlist For UK’s Premier HGV Driver Awards Announced


The shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has today been announced, shining a light on the best-of-the-best from across the road transport industry, at a time when many hauliers and fleet operators are playing an even more critical role in keeping the UK running.

With telematics based categories containing an initial eligible pool of over 210,000 drivers, and nomination based categories receiving more entries than ever before, the shortlist has been drawn-up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

The shortlist contains drivers from major brands including DHL, Culina, Hovis, Royal Mail, Waitrose and Yodel, across telematics based distance categories, as well as Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chief Executive of Microlise, Nadeem Raza, noted the calibre of this year’s shortlisted drivers, “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its sixth year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK. According to the judging panel, there is little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

Independent judges included Chief Executive of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Burnett; Editor of Motor Transport, Steve Hobson; the former Traffic Commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken; Board Advisor to London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencier; Dougie Rankine, Editor, Road Transport Media; and Executive Director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

According to Bob Harbey, “The standard of entries was simply outstanding and a true credit to all those nominated. All nominees could have been worthy winners. I have to congratulate all nominees for giving me and my fellow judges such a very difficult task. It was a privilege to take part in recognising the truly inspirational HGV drivers who consistently perform their role with such professionalism and customer focus.”

The Short, Medium and Long distance awards draw data from Microlise telematics units collected throughout 2019 which is then assessed against criteria developed by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre. Employers submit entries for the additional categories, which the judging panel review.

The full shortlist of 26 drivers will again enjoy a Porsche track day, when social distancing restrictions are relaxed and it is safe to do so.
With winners typically announced at the Microlise Transport Conference, which has been cancelled for 2020 due to the Coronavirus pandemic, winners across all categories will instead be announced over the coming weeks.



Short Distance

Clifford Berry – Gist
Karl Vincent Dennis – Culina Logistics
Richard Smart – Ryder Ltd

Medium Distance

Marcin Rafal Biront – DHL
Mark Gilbert – Royal Mail
Dzevad Grozdanic – Yodel

Long Distance

Gillian Brooks – Gist
Iacob Vasile-Ionut – DHL M&S


Driver Excellence– No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.


Extra Mile

Paul Galbraith – Waitrose
Andrzej Konieczny – Brit European
Roderick David Mitchell – Miniclipper Logistics


HGV Hero

Talide Balde -Hovis
John Bushby – Gist
Phil Hoskins – City Plumbing Supplies Holdings Ltd
Lee Mumford – Hovis
Tim Watson – Waitrose


Most Improved Driver of the Year

Craig Abbotts – DPDgroup UK Ltd
Christopher Given – CM Downton
Dimka Ivanova – Boughey Distribution


Young Driver of the Year

Jamie Ian Lamb – Howdens Joinery
Jordan Rogers – Goldstar Heathrow
Matt Wright – Ryder Ltd


Lifetime Achievement

Garry Bellamy – Forterra Building Products Ltd
David Holmes – Gist
Christopher Paul Spivey – Howden Joinery